The project group consists of researchers from the following institutions:


The research is divided into the following structure, with three work packages and synthesis work. The researchers from the involved institutions are allocated to the different work packages as shown.

Coordination / Communication / Outreach

Leader: Prof. Frode Mellemvik, High North Center for Business and Governance, Nord University, Bodø, Norway

Fridtjof Nansen Institute, Oslo, Norway

WP I – International

– Law of the Sea and the Arctic

– International Maritime Organization



·       Leader: Iselin Stensdal (FNI)

·       Dr Andreas Østhagen (FNI)

·       Dr Zhang Pei (SIIS)

·       Dr Fujio Onishi (ARC-HU)

·       Lillian Hussong (TAI)



WP II – Regional

– Arctic Council

– High Arctic Fisheries Agreement



·       Leader: Dr Svein Rottem (FNI)

·       Prof. Gørild Heggelund (FNI)

·       Dr Sanna Kopra (TAI)

·       Prof. Olav Schram Stokke (FNI/UiO)

·       Prof. Frode Nilssen (Nord)

·       Prof. Christel Elvestad (Nord)


WP III – National

-Norwegian Arctic Business Framework

– Norwegian Arctic Research

– Nordland County Cooperation


·       Leader: Prof. Frode Mellemvik (HNC)

·       Dr Elena Dybtsyna (HNC)

·       Anders Christoffer Edstrøm (HNC)

·       Prof. Sun Suyuan (ECNU)

·       Prof. Xu Guangmiao (ECNU)

·       Trym Eiterjord (TAI)



High North Center, Nord University

Fridtjof Nansen Institute

PhD student (Nord University)



Reference group for synthesis:

The Arctic Institute

Shanghai Institutes for International Studies

East China Normal University

Hokkaido University Arctic Research Center

Arctic Economic Council

Nordland County Council